New to natural

Introduce yourself to the Black Naps community. Share your hair story, your questions, your struggles, let it all out here!

Moderator: Ariane Williams

mrscat21
How long have you been natural?: transitioning
What's your hair type?: 3C - Curly Hair
What's your hair length?: Shoulder Length Hair

New to natural

Post by mrscat21 » Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:26 pm

I'm new to the whole natural thing. I've been transition for about 5 months now. Even when i was perming my hair i would only perm it every three or four months. i haven't been using heat on my hair at all. when its curly its because i do flexi rod sets,twist outs and bantu knot outs. i just want to figure out how to mske this process as smooth as possible. how do i know whats my hair type. live love smile learn <3

beautywithbrains26
BN Forum Veteran
BN Forum Veteran
How long have you been natural?: > 1 year
What's your hair type?: 4C - Kinky Coily

Re: New to natural

Post by beautywithbrains26 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:16 pm

We are in the same boat! I am 6 months transitioning on May 8th. And I also recommend to not even bother attempting to figure out your hair type while transitioning because the relaxed ends weigh down the new curls, may making the curl stretch a bit which came make you mistype your hair. What I've been doing is constant protective styling --- I had box braids (the process of getting them = no. the 2 weeks of sore scalp = nope. the week after the 2 weeks where it is so itchy you can't sleep = nope. the 18 hours it takes to take it out = no. don't do it to yourself. I love the look of it but it's so arduous.) and I currently have crochet braids (3 hours installation vs 7 =YES. no soreness or itchiness at all = YES. 20 min takeout = YES. DO IT. DO IT!!!!) I recommend you put your hair in a protective style (or a long term one; i've mentioned two in the previous sentence) such as buns, halo braids, etc. to keep your ends protected and also so you don/t over-manipulate your hair :)